integrated organization whose primary function is to provide technological assistance in the development of Canada's mineral resources through investigations, studies and research in the fields of geology, mineral dressing and metallurgy, and geodetic, topographic and other surveys. The Department is under the Minister of Mines and Technical Surveys and is divided into five branches: the Surveys and Mapping Branch, the Geological Survey of Canada, the Mines Branch, the Dominion Observatories and the Geographical Branch.

The Department also administers the Explosives Act which regulates the manufacture, testing, sale, storage and importation of explosives, and the Emergency Gold Mining Assistance Act which provides cost-aid to the gold industry.

Boards and Commissions are: Canadian Board on Geographical Names; Board of Examiners for Dominion Land Surveyors; International Boundary Commission and Interprovincial Boundary Commissions.

The Department of National Defence.—Created on Jan. 1, 1923, by the National Defence Act, 1922, the Department of National Defence was originally an amalgamation of the Department of Militia and Defence, the Naval Service and the Air Board.

In 1940, the Department of National Defence was separated into three departments, one for each of the Armed Services, and continued under this organization until the cessation of hostilities. In order to afford the maximum possible degree of co-ordination, the three Services were again brought into one departmental organization in 1946.

In 1947, the Defence Research Board was formed to carry out research projects for defence. It is responsible to the Minister of National Defence for this function and for advising him on the effect of scientific, technical and other research on national defence.

Department of National Health and Welfare.—The Department of National Health and Welfare was established in October 1944. Under the Minister of National Health and Welfare, the Department, which is composed of three branches (Health, Welfare and Administration), is administered through two Deputy Ministers.

The Health Branch is divided into three directorates—Health Insurance Studies, Food and Drugs, and Indian Health Services. It has 14 Divisions active in certain public health fields divided into three main groups—Medical Advisory, Research Development, and Environmental Health, each of which is headed by a Principal Medical Officer.

The Welfare Branch is made up of the Divisions of Family Allowances, Old Age Security, Old Age Assistance and Physical Fitness. The Department is also responsible for federal civil-defence planning, with the Civil Defence Co-ordinator reporting to both Deputy Ministers. The Administration Branch includes divisions where activities cover both health and welfare fields, such as research, information, legal and library services, as well as administrative, personnel and purchasing and supply services.

National Library.—The National Library Act, proclaimed Jan. 1, 1953, brought the National Library into being. Though at an early stage of organization, the Library publishes Canadiana—a monthly catalogue of new publications relating to Canada—and is well advanced on a national union catalogue to serve as a key to the contents of all important libraries in Canada. The National Librarian reports to the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration.

National Museum of Canada.—The National Museum illustrates the natural history of Canada — its geology, biology and anthropology. It was formerly part of the Geological Survey, founded in 1842, but was separated from it in 1920, and is now part of the Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources. The Museum carries out field investigations in botany, zoology, vertebrate palæontology, archæology and ethnology including studies of folk-lore and folk-songs, publishes the results of its research and carries out an extensive educational program.

The Department of National Revenue.—From Confederation until May 1918, customs and inland revenue Acts were administered by separate departments; after that date they were amalgamated under one Minister as the Department of Customs and Inland Revenue. In 1921, the name was changed to the Department of Customs and Excise. In April 1924, collection of income taxes was placed under the Minister of National Revenue and under the Department of National Revenue Act, 1927, the Department became known as the Department of National Revenue.

The Department is responsible for the assessment and collection of customs and excise duty, taxes and revenues and other services by ports and outports, as well as for the assessment and collection of income taxes and succession duties.

The Minister of National Revenue is responsible to Parliament for the Income Tax Appeal Board and the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation.

Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources.—The Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources was established in December 1953, superseding the Department of Resources and Development. In addition to Administration Services,